The Shining Houses: Conflict

The Shining Houses, a short story mainly revolving around Mary, a simple person living in a neighbourhood among other neighbours; most notably Mrs. Fullerton. An old lady that looks much younger for her age, as her hair remains a pure black among other differences between old and young. Her old house is what some may call somewhat reminiscent of late times, bringing down the value of property in the surrounding area.

 The neighbourhood has started a petition, in hope to build a lane and better improve their property value. Although that in itself seems fine, to bring up the property value of the neighbourhood, the main hidden purpose of this lane is the general hate for the old lady. What people think is a horrible old house may be viewed differently by her, but regardless, they plan to tear down the house, and drive the ‘hag’ out.

 Mary, alike in many stories, has conflicting feelings about the situation. She somewhat understands how it is secretly hidden in an attempt to drive the lady out, but she has the disturbing feeling of pity and guilt, as they drive the grandma out of what she views as a wonderful house. The entire community also gives her peer-pressure, while others around her may not be superior, it is the fact that she opposes the ideal acceptance of the petition, and she is frowned or viewed oddly upon the other individuals.

So the story ends with the tentative ending of the aligned shining houses, with Mrs. Fullertons house on the opposite site, with smoke coming out of the chimmeny next door.

 Summary: Conflict:

  • Person Vs. Self/Mind/ Opposing Ideals
  • Person Vs. Community/Others

~ShadowHydra

3 Comments »

  1. Mrs. Corman Said:

    Well Brandon, you certainly have that “voice” in your writing I was talking about in class. I enjoyed reading your entry. I might add one more source of conflict, which I think you touched on (although not directly), and that is person vs. society. The modern world idolizes “new”. There is no place for “old” people or things. Mrs. Fullerton is in conflict with the values of the society described in the book (which I believe, sadly, often mirrors our own).

  2. shadowhydra Said:

    I believe that “Person vs. Society”, is a mirror image of “Person vs. Community”. Which I have taken note of in my blog; Mrs. Corman. I don’t know if anyone else would hold enough reliability to get their say over yours, so I shall blindly say that the thesaurus says so.

    However, yes. People are ever replacing or beridding of old traits, designs, and objects. Usually for the betterment of, which the story may have tried to imply when the community/society was trying to berid the house in exchange for a lane.

    While I agree with you, I don’t think that such things would lose the value of what they were. As there is a complete possibility that Mrs. Fullertons house, was just as ‘efficient’ of living in compared to other houses. The value had then, only gone down because of it’s apperance.

    ~ShadowHydra

  3. hcorman Said:

    Brandon, I did not mean to imply that “old” meant “less”. I only suggest that our society often views things this way. Old people get shoved into old folks homes. Old buildings are torn down to make parking lots. Yes. I’m exaggerating for effect, but I think you get my point.
    I accept your point about “community”. 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment